Triangle Park is located at the intersections of Lakeshore Drive, Main Street and the City Pier entrance.
In the 1990s, the City spent $3.5 to renovate Kershaw Park and Lakeshore Drive. The area was blighted: A tall, rusty chainlink fence cordoned Kershaw Park from Lakeshore Drive. A propane gas depot stood on the site of the current NY Kitchen – not very welcoming to the refurbished City Pier.
However, the City aggressively pursued its capital improvement plan. One aspect involved creating a new city park at the base of the Canandaigua City Pier to welcome visitors to the City lakefront – the pride and joy of City residents.
One option called for a roundabout so that motorist could choose between South Main Street, the City Pier and Lakeshore Drive. Because Canandaiguans had no local experience with roundabouts, the City Council decided against constructing this traffic novelty. Years later, Ontario County built two roundabouts in the eastern bypass around Canandaigua, and since then, motorists realize that roundabouts move traffic faster than traditional 4-way stop sign intersections.
After much discussion, City Council agreed on the current design of Triangle Park. The designers suggested new placement of the old 1929 monument and historical marker to make it more welcoming to pedestrians. This monument commemorates the 1779 routes of the armies of General John Sullivan and General James Clinton:
Here’s a closeup of the monument:
The plaque contains language that offends modern sensibilities. Rather than remove the plaque, the City demonstrated its appreciation for the history of Native Americans – and in particular, our First People, the Haudenosaunee (“People of the Longhouse”).
Several years ago, the City commissioned a modern bronze stature depicting a Seneca, or Onondowahgah (“The People of the Great Hill”) family. The statue is located on the northeast corner at the intersection of South Main Street and State Routes 5 & 20.